Iijima Mari – Ai Oboete Imasu ka

‘Ai Oboete Imasu ka’, insert song in the Super Dimensional Fortress Macross: Do You Remember Love? movie by Iijima Mari. Iijima Mari was the voice actor of the character Lynn Minmay. Aside from in DYRL, this song has also been performed by Ranka Lee (Nakajima Megumi) in Macross Frontier, as well as by numerous singers in other albums. With this song’s status as an anime classic, I took especial effort to make the translation singable.

愛・おぼえていますか
歌:飯島真理

今 あなたの声が聴こえる
「ここにおいで」と
淋しさに 負けそうな わたしに

今 あなたの姿が見える
歩いてくる
目を閉じて 待っている わたしに

昨日まで 涙でくもってた
心は今…

おぼえていますか
目と目が会った時を
おぼえていますか
手と手が触れあった時
それは初めての
愛の旅立ちでした
I love you, so

今 あなたの視線感じる
離れてても
体中が 暖かくなるの

今 あなたの愛信じます
どうぞ私を
遠くから 見守って下さい

昨日まで 涙でくもってた
世界は今…

おぼえていますか
目と目が会った時を
おぼえていますか
手と手が触れあった時
それは初めての
愛の旅立ちでした
I love you, so

もう ひとりぼっちじゃない
あなたがいるから…

Do You Remember Love?
Performed by Iijima Mari

Now I think I hear you calling from far away
Saying, “Come to me”
As I’m trying to fight off my loneliness

Now I think I see you coming from far away
On your way to me
And I’ll stay here, close my eyes to wait for you

For the longest time, tears were clouding over my heart
But that was yesterday…!

Tell me if you still remember
When I looked into your eyes the first time
Tell me if you still remember
When we took each other’s hands the first time
Something brought us both together
On a journey that would last for all time
I love you so

Even now when you’re in galaxies far away
I feel your eyes on me
And I’m glowing with a warmth from deep inside

Now I know your love will always be close to me
I give myself to you
Please be looking in the stars, and out for me

For the longest time, tears were clouding over my world
But that was yesterday…!

Tell me if you still remember
When I looked into your eyes the first time
Tell me if you still remember
When we took each other’s hands the first time
Something brought us both together
On a journey that would last for all time
I love you so

Now I know that I’m not alone
Because I’ve got you with me…

2 thoughts on “Iijima Mari – Ai Oboete Imasu ka

    • There’s a sentimentality in this song that doesn’t work in English as well as it does in Japanese, I think. Perhaps a better translation would change the contents of the song to fit a more English tone and a more English topic, but by then that’s no longer translation.

Leave a Reply

